Out And About.

So it’s Valentine’s day today.

The girls and I had fun. We unconsciously and unexpectedly went out of the cliche guy-girl norm. It was all good until two of us became third wheels and had to leave(Thankfully). Yes a guy eventually came around.

Personally I don’t believe in Valentine’s day. I think it’s overrated because there’s so much hype and thirst attached to it.. The pressure to deliver and not be seen as being broke or stingy and the thirst to receive gifts no matter how small and flaunt it. Guys want to pamper. Girls want to be pampered. There’s competition. Who gives better gifts and who doesn’t. And then the most annoying part is the emphasis placed on sex. I have no idea where the deranged idea that the day is incomplete without sex came from. Of course after the guy has drained his account just to please his partner, he sort of expects some dividends in return. Most times if not all the time it’s sex. Blah blah blah!

No I’m not depressed neither am I excited about the day. Maybe because of my marital status, maybe not. The truth is, I’ve never really celebrated the day or received gifts honouring the day so in my head, it’s just another day of the week. #DontJudgeMe.

But you know what’s peculiar about today? I took myself out, bought myself food and had fun just because. Apart from the people looking ridiculous with their red and white outfits, I probably wouldn’t remember it’s Valentine’s day.

Meanwhile, I love today’s date; 14-02-14.

Okay I think I should go.

Love,love and more love
EB.

Leave a Reply

