Personal Preference

How y’all doing?!

I think yesterday, the list of nominees for the BET 2013 awards came out and as usual i was rooting for the category of best Gospel artists. Wow! Tight category! My one and only Deitrick Haddon was nominated as well as Lecrae,Mavin Sapp,Marymary,Tamela Munn(The lady from Tyler Perry’s stage plays and movies. Amazing voice i must confess. Didn’t know she was into music professionally). I think one more person is missing. Can’t remember now or Not! Anyways a couple of minutes ago i tweeted i preferred Deitrick Haddon to Lecrae (Google is your friend) simply because the former appealled to me than the later. I’m more into Rock/ RnB than Hiphop/Rap. I don’t even listen to it. Trust the ever faithful fans to ‘defend’ him. And i’m like personally i think Lecrae is good @ what he does, i mean i’ve listened to him buh because of his genre of music,i’m not a fan and i don’t think i can ‘enjoy’ his music despite the fact that he is a Gospel artist.

Really i’ve never dug Rap, Hiphop and Afro-whatever and all those ‘gangster’ ish(That’s what i think). I dunno. No matter how good you are,u can’t make me download your song or buy your album which i hardly ever do. It just isn’t me. That’s why you can never see an Olamide or Wizkid or Kanye West track on my phone,ipod or laptop. Apart from the fact that they lack lyrical content,they hardly pass any message. I don’t think i wanna spend my time listening to songs like that all in the name of entertainment. Yeah they are cool,they’re good @ what they do,they’re supposedly talented and they’re are getting paid for it. I’m not criticising them or anything. All i’m saying is i don’t roll like that no matter how much they are been hyped.

Then again i’m not a music fanatic so to speak. I’ve always said that i could go weeks without listening to music. Yeah. I’m weird like that. My love for music is superficial. All those cliches don’t move me. ”Music is a form of expression” and so on. *rme. Buh if i eventually get bored or miss it,i need something i can relate to. I need something to raise my spirits. I need something that would inspire me and i tell you Rap doesn’t do any of those for ME. Who knows maybe i’vn’t been listening to the right musicians and i’ve been living under a rock all this while. -___-. I dunno you tell me.

Basically, i wanna hear a soulful track with extraordinary vocals,powerful message and probably a raised tempo with Rock. Really. That’s all i ask for. All those punchlines and rhymes are just Whatever! I also wanna hear a band or a group of artists with amazing synchronized chemistry(anything like that?! ^_^). I wanna be inspired or moved to tears or have goosebumps. Really. Is that too much?!

x.

9 thoughts on “Personal Preference

  1. LOOL @ Moved to tears is not that serious maami just free your mind and listen Gospel Rap songs have powerful messages too, I think you shud really listen to Lecrae, Da truth , pastor J and others gospel rappers forget the gangster ish circular rapper try to paint, Rap and Hiphop are cool genre of music RAP is simply Rythm and Applied Poestry and for the BET award. Lecrae is winning it, he already won best Gospel album for grammy so this will be a bonus award lol

      • LOL D.Haddon is my man i feel is energy more when his is on stage. Trust me am a fan of the brother eXperience 2012 he was just awesome. But you should listen to lecrae’s Church clothes and Background u wud come to love him maybe u start by ff @lecrae on twitter hehehehehe

      • Well, for me Rap doesn’t do it.. I quite agree wit ebun on this… There are a lot of good christian rap artist like JMoss etc. But then, there is more healing of the soul from gospel track wit slow tempo or abit of soft rock. And also the message of the song really matters!!! It is not about how well you can rhyme but how well your lyrical passes the message of Christ and his love. That’s if it gospel!!! That’s my view.

  2. Lmao! Dunno why I’m laughing though; but it’s funny that you think Lecrae is not all that, personal preference yeah. But don’t you judge on a few tracks. An idea: dl Lecrae ft. Mali Music

  3. Well, for me Rap doesn’t do it.. I quite agree wit ebun on this… There are a lot of good christian rap artist like JMoss etc. But then, there is more healing of the soul from gospel track wit slow tempo or abit of soft rock. And also the message of the song really matters!!! It is not about how well you can rhyme but how well your lyrical passes the message of Christ and his love. That’s if it gospel!!! That’s my view.

Leave a Reply

