My New Love

Years ago, when it was time to take a picture particularly with a group or the family,i’ll just squeeze or make a face of digust. I would always say: ‘I don’t like taking pictures’. Years down the line,its a different story. Every opportunity i get, i wanna be in front of the camera, i wanna capture an event or something or rather express myself. Lately it’s been alarming maybe because of the advent of social networks where you have to update your profiles every now and then. You don’t wanna be seen as stale, you wanna be up-to-date. You want friends to make nice comments about you. You just want the spotlight especially if its breathtaking. You want others to know your style or you wanna portray yourself in a particular kind of light,photography does it all. Did i mention its also fun especially if its a shoot or just random moments alone or with friends?!
My new love for photography has taken me by surprise. I totally didnt know its was gonna get to this extent. Every other day, i find myself taking pictures of myself in different poses; more recently, making funny faces. I think one of the reasons ive fallen in love with photography is because of my friend Tolu. He is an AMAZING photographer and owns a studio which i always love to visit. His style got to me.He isnt just a random photographer,he is a professional.( i have so much love for professionals). I admire photographers a lot. From TY bello to Kelechi Amadi-Obi to Moussa Moussa to Obi Somto to Losgiddy(met him on twitter), i love their works not only because of their professionalism buh because they’ve taken photography to a whole new level.Photography for me is a way of expression. The fact that the camera can capture just about anything baffles me. I can totally be myself in front of a camera and just enjoy the moment. I have decided that im gonna purchase a nice camera soon! Its something i wanna do for fun. I wanna be able to capture every moment in my life. As it is said pictures tell stories, i don’t think im gonna have any problem talking to my children or anybody about my life.

Leave a Reply

